Everything you need to know about the virtual Bundesliga

Credit: https://www.dfl.de/de/aktuelles/vbl-club-championship-startet-mit-22-clubs-aus-der-bundesliga-und-2-bundesliga/

For years, the virtual Bundesliga has enjoyed increasing popularity and is also present again this season. Nevertheless, there are many changes compared to last year, because this season 26 teams play for the championship title, instead of 22 previously. To make it faster and more interesting, the whole event has been restructured and optimised. Here you can find an overview of the match dates, qualification, and participating club teams' changes.

What is the Virtual Bundesliga, and how do the new divisions and tournament structures work?

The Virtual Bundesliga (VBL) is the Bundesliga on the console. There are private individual players and professional e-sports clubs from the first and second Bundesliga, who play against each other. The first at the end of the season becomes the German champion in eFootball.

The competition has been around since Fifa 13 and is organised by the German Football League and EA Sports. Since then, a lot has happened and also with FIFA 21, there are again some changes in the process. A big difference is that this year more teams take part in the VBL Club Championship. Below you can find the most important new points of the tournament structure.

Platform distribution of the games - which console will be used?

As in the previous season, they will be played in the "Davis Cup format". It means that two matches will be played in one vs one mode - one on Playstation 4 and the other on Xbox One. The third match will be played in a two-on-two format, where the home team gets to choose the console.

The splitting into two divisions of the 26 teams

There are two divisions of equal size, each with 13 teams. Once there is the South-East division and once the North-West division. The geographical location determines the division. In both divisions, the first and second legs are played.

Entry fees

Teams participating in the VBL will be paid an entry fee of 100,000 euros. This sum brings the German e-sports scene further forward. This year there are more participants, which makes the competition much more enjoyable.

Improvement of playing strength

As in previous seasons, the VBL Club Championships will be played in a "levelled-off" mode. This means that all players of the teams have the same playing strength. The difference to the previous year is the increase of the total strength, namely from "85" to "90". Thus the organisers want to make the game trickier and faster.

The schedule for the matchdays of the VBL Club Championship in FIFA 21

If you are interested in the competitions of the professional clubs, you can always look at the matches and results of the matchday on our page. But you can already remember that the South-East-Division always plays on Wednesday and the North-West-Division always plays on Tuesday.

The 13 teams of the North-West Division

1. FC Köln

Bayer 04 Leverkusen

Borussia Mönchengladbach

Eintracht Braunschweig

FC Schalke 04

FC St. Pauli

Hamburg SV

Hannover 96

Holstein Kiel

SC Paderborn 07

SV Werder Bremen

VfL Bochum 1848

VfL Wolfsburg

The 13 teams of the South-East Division

1. FC Heidenheim 1846

1. FC Nürnberg

1. FSV Mainz 05

Eintracht Frankfurt

FC Augsburg

FC Würzburg Kickers

Hertha BSC

RB Leipzig

SpVgg Greuther Fürth

SSV Jahn Regensburg

SV Darmstadt 98

SV Sandhausen

TSG Hoffenheim



By the way: As you undoubtedly noticed, a couple of well-known teams like FC Bayern Munich or Borussia Dortmund are missing in the selection. Their e-sports teams have signed with the competition (Pro Evolution Soccer) and play there in the eFootball.pro League against teams like FC Barcelona or Juventus.